What can Creative, Inspired People do?

Sometimes I wonder why the heck I ever tweet. I supposedly have 180 people following me, and there is a fraction of that number who do actually favorite and re-tweet my tweets. But wandering around on Twitter the other day, I was reminded of its value to me when I came across a link to this article. View story at Medium.com

Well, I’m nothing if not an optimist. Or maybe I’m just the perfect moviegoer for this movie — I want to know how I can contribute to creating something beautiful in the world. I love the idea that little beacons of light in individuals can join together to bring about change for the better.

There were so many parts of this movie that made me smile. Real big. The scale of Tomorrowland was marvelous and the futuristic inventions would be familiar to George Jetson. There was much beauty in Tomorrowland.

Apparently, the film is not getting a great reception from reviewers. They feel it is too heavy-handed, and belabors the point that optimism could have a positive impact on our future. Well, I, for one, think it was just fine for director Brad Bird to make the point over and over again. There aren’t too many movies that are focusing on seeing the future as something other than a dystopian nightmare (see Mad Max, Fury Road: 98% positive on Rotten Tomatoes; Twitter is raving about it; it’s been described as one very long car chase; the previews gave me a bit of sadness to think about the children that will see this in the theaters).

NPR’s Bob Mondello closes his review with these comments:

This is, let’s note, more sloganeering than imagineering, but let that pass. The sentiments are certainly admirable and are, no doubt, heartfelt and are delivered so insistently and passionately that, while “Tomorrowland’s” sermonizing left me feeling grumpy and feeling a little guilty for feeling grumpy, it may well have an entirely different effect on impressionable children, who are, after all, its target audience. I wouldn’t be surprised if they emerge inspired by a sense of purpose they did not have on the way in and a mission to get one of those T pins. I’m Bob Mondello.

I don’t think of myself as a child, but I am glad to claim a sense of childlike wonder still lurking underneath the attention I have to pay to the traffic, getting groceries, paying the bills, and being an adult. Yes, I emerged inspired by a sense of purpose I did not have on the way in. Seems like a good thing to me. And I’m looking for one of those pins . . .

3 thoughts on “What can Creative, Inspired People do?

  1. I always enjoy Bob Mondello’s intelligent and sometimes scathing reviews – he IS a grump, but it’s worth paying attention to what he says. If Mr Mondello engaged in this much internal review over Tomorrowland, and finished up this way, then this movie is special indeed. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We don’t go to movies much these days. There just doesn’t seem to be much that’s worth our time and $$$$ (we got spoiled when we lived in a town with a dollar theater).

    A running buddy of ours took his nephew to see Tomorrowland last week, and I’ve been wanting to ask him about it next time I see him. I’m so glad you wrote about the movie. Now I know I would like to see it! And if I see your review on Twitter, I will retweet! đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What you Think!

